BULLIES in the CHURCH

office_bully1

Everybody hates bullies. I would imagine the most men have painful memories of playground humiliations by older and bigger boys. I would imagine that most women have painful memories of being made to feel homely by a clique of prettier girls.

While our memories of being bullied are strong,I doubt that we are even half aware of the pain we have inflicted on others. Our culture glorifies the strong and beautiful and has only contempt for the weak and plain.

Does it surprise you to know that Satan tempts those who have their lives together spiritually to look down on weaker believers? I have never heard anyone admit to the sin of being a Pharisee, but the spirit of those arrogant, judgmental church people will never die. I know it’s in me (maybe sometimes, I’m not perfect), and it may live in you too.

Here’s a better way: “We who are  strong ought to bear with the failings  of the weak” ( Romans 15:1 ). That means in humility realizing that I’m no better that anybody else. That means I daily recognize my need for a Savior and am daily grateful to Christ. That means I can choose to be as patient with the struggles around me as Christ has been with me. That means I can choose to extend a word of encouragement or a helping hand instead of a sneer. Who is in need of your mercy today? Who is in need of your understanding today ?

There are books on school bullying—and more than enough data to support techniques for dealing with the problem.

But when it comes to the church—there’s very little information.

Nevertheless, there can be bullies in the church.  And most don’t fit the bully stereotype.

Consider, for example, a few of the bully personalities that are more commonly found in the church:

-A church staff member whose mean gossip is causing a myriad of problems among other staff members, including harsh words and hurt feelings.

-An older teen who seems intent on harassing a younger teen after youth meetings.

Usually, the bully is a fickle personality who enjoys creating trouble. But if you can create a congregation of unity, of peace, and of mutual concern—most bullies cannot thrive in a spirit-filled environment. They will retreat into the shadows.

but let me tell you this, it doesn’t mean you have a good position or  maybe you are a leader, you can be careless. It’s not about superiority here, our main purpose is to live the “Christ-like” life. I hope gossips will stops, I hope politics at church layoff. WE ARE NOT HERE TO SHOW OFF WHO’S GREAT, WHO’S GOOD LOOKING, or even WHO’S CAPABLE. Stop living like a Pharisee.

Lastly my question is….. HOW’S YOUR HEART? IS IT LIKE JESUS’?

2eefaf67089639cf8c99944a7d63008f

Leave a Reply

